Swansea University Gwyddor Cyfrifiadur

Module: CS_254, Software Engineering, 2009-2010

Documentation and Links directly related to Assessed Coursework:
  1. Assignment 5: The requirements for the fifth assignment.
  2. Team A
    swaps with
    Team B
    Group 3 Group 5
    Group 6 Group 9
    Group 10 Group 12
    Best Group Project!
    Group 7 Group 11
    Group 1 Group 2
    Group 4 Group 8
  3. Assignment 4 Assessment Report (LaTeX file)
  4. Assignments 3 and 4: The requirements for the third and fourth assignments.
  5. Assignment 2: The requirements for the second assignment.
  6. Assignment 1: A description of the first group assignment.
  7. Texmaker: Texmaker is a free LaTeX editor, that integrates many tools needed to develop documents with LaTeX, in just one application. Texmaker runs on Unix, Mac OSX and Windoze systems and is released under the GPL license .
  8. A sample LaTeX file that may be used in conjunction with assessed coursework 1.
  9. A sample BibTeX file that may be used in conjunction with assessed coursework 1.
  10. A very interesting sample group report from A1.

Schedule of Lectures, 2009-2010 TB 1

Monday 28 Sep 2009
Welcome and Introduction to Software Engineering (SE) (RSL)
Thursday 1 Oct
Building a GUI (CJW)
Friday 2 Oct
Introduction to Human-Centered Software Engineering (MLW)
Monday 5 Oct 2009
Discussion of Assignment 1 and Groups (RSL)
Thursday 8 Oct
GUIs and Events (CJW)
Friday 9 Oct
Perception, Attention, and Memory (MLW)
Monday 12 Oct 2009
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
Thursday 15 Oct
Intro to Netbeans and Exception Handling (CJW)
Friday 16 Oct
Icons, Colors, UI Design, Web Pages (MLW)
Monday 19 Oct 2009
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
Thursday 22 Oct
Exception Handling in Java (CJW)
Friday 16 Oct
No Lecture (MWL away at a conference)
Monday 26 Oct 2009
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
Thursday 29 Oct
Motivation and Software Life Cycle Phases (RSL)
Friday 30 Oct
Prototyping (MWL)
Monday 2 Nov 2009
(no lecture)
Thursday 5 Nov
Intro to Object Technology: Correctness, Reliability, Extendibility, Re-usability (CJW)
Friday 6 Nov
About Requirements and Requirements Specification (MWL)
Monday 9 Nov 2009
A2 work opportunity (no lecture)
Thursday 12 Nov
Software Life-cycle Models (RSL)
Friday 13 Nov
Personas and Task Analysis (MWL)
Monday 16 Nov 2009
A2 work opportunity (no lecture)
Thursday 19 Nov
Object Technology: Compatibility, Portability, Functionality (CJW)
Friday 20 Nov
Scenarios, Story-boarding (MWL)
Monday 23 Nov 2009
A2 work opportunity (no lecture, Gregynog week)
Thursday 26 Nov
Software Design: Information Hiding (RSL)
Friday 27 Nov
User Studies (MWL)
Monday 30 Nov 2009
A2 work opportunity (no lecture)
Thursday 3 Dec
Software Design: Objects and Information Hiding (RSL)
Friday 4 Dec
User Study Methods (MWL)
Monday 7 Dec 2009
Turn in Assignment 2.
Thursday 10 Dec
Software Design: Responsibilities, Assignments 3+4 hand-out (RSL)
Friday 11 Dec
no lecture

Schedule of Lectures, 2010 TB 2

Monday 25 Jan
Assignment 3 (RSL)
Thursday 28 Jan
Software Design: Collaborations (RSL)
Friday 29 Jan
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
Monday 1 Feb
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
(tutorial meetings begin for groups 11 and 12)
Thursday 4 Feb
Software Design: Hierarchies (RSL)
Friday 5 Feb
Event Handling and the Mouse (CJW)
Monday 8 Feb
Level 1 Away Day (no lecture)
Group Meeting Opportunity
(no tutorial meeting)
Thursday 11 Feb
Software Design: SubSystems (RSL)
Friday 12 Feb
Screen Capture Software Demo (RS)
Monday 15 Feb
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
(tutorial meeting for group 11)
Thursday 18 Feb
Software Design: Protocols (RSL)
Friday 19 Feb
Introduction to Version Control (RSL)
Monday 22 Feb
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
Bob in London-no tutorial group meeting
Thursday 25 Feb
Software Implementation (RSL)
Friday 26 Feb
Advanced Java GUI Applications (CJW)
Monday 1 Mar
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
(tutorial meeting for group 12)
Thursday 4 Mar
Bob's Concise Coding Conventions (C3) (RSL)
Friday 5 Mar
Java Exceptions and Stream I/O (CJW)
Monday 8 Mar
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
(tutorial meeting for group 11)
Thursday 10 Mar
Teamwork (RSL)
Friday 11 Mar
Java Collections (CJW)
Monday 15 Mar
Group Meeting Opportunity (no lecture)
(tutorial meeting for group 12)
Thursday 18 Mar
Software Design and UML (RSL)
Friday 19 Mar
Debugging in Java (CJW)
Monday 19 Apr
Year 3 Projects in Visualization
Thursday 22 April
A4 demonstration for Groups 1 and 2
Friday 23 April
Level 2 Away Day
Monday 26 Apr
A4 demonstration for Groups 3 and 4
Thursday 29 April
A4 demonstration for Groups 5 and 6
Friday 30 April
A4 demonstration for Groups 7 and 8
Monday 3 May
Bank Holiday
Thursday 6 May
A4 demonstration for Groups 9 and 10
Friday 7 May
A4 demonstration for Groups 11, 12 and 13

This page is maintained by Robert S. Laramee.
In case of comments, questions, suggestions, or collaboration ideas, send email to: r.s.laramee "at" swansea.ac.uk.

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional